Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners, together with Manatee County's five constitutional officers, comprise Manatee County Government. The Board of County Commission establishes policy for County departments and appoints the County Administrator who carries out the day-to-day business of the County.

Who's my commissioner? Enter your address and find out with the Resident Information Tool.

Manatee County Board of County Commissioners

Commissioner James Satcher, District 1
James Satcher
First Vice Chair, District 1
Commissioner Reggie Bellamy, District 2
Reggie Bellamy
District 2
Commissioner Kevin Van Ostenbridge, District 3
Kevin Van Ostenbridge
Chairman, District 3
Commissioner Misty Servia, District 4
Misty Servia
District 4
Commissioner Vanessa Baugh, District 5
Vanessa Baugh
District 5
Commissioner Carol Whitmore, At Large
Carol Whitmore
Third Vice Chair, At Large
Commissioner George Kruse At Large
George Kruse
Second Vice Chair, At Large


Commissioner Topics

Information and topics your commissioners want you to know about.

Commission Districts Map

Commission districts map

Enter your address in our Resident Information Tool to find your commissioner and district.

What do County Commissioners do?

The Board is the legislative branch and governing body of Manatee County Government. The Board legislates policy to protect the health, welfare, safety and quality of life of Manatee County residents.

The Board of County Commissioners is comprised of seven members. Five members are elected from single-member districts, and two are elected county-wide. Each district commissioner must reside in the district for which he or she seeks election.

County Commissioners have a number of responsibilities, including:

  • Perform legislative functions of government by developing policy for the management of Manatee County
  • Disseminate information to the public through ordinances and resolutions
  • Approve the County's operating and capital budgets
  • Approve the County's Capital Improvement Program, which is a schedule of all County infrastructure projects
  • Take action on any programs to improve the County and the welfare of its residents
  • Appoint the County Administrator, County Attorney and numerous advisory and regulatory board members
  • Serve as the Port Authority
  • Serve on local, regional and state boards

More information about the powers and duties of the County Commissioners can be found in Florida Statute Chapter 125.01.